The inevitable arrival of a new year.

I like to call this time of year a “major reality check”. Why? Well it’s the only time in the year that forces me to stop and take note of where I stand in life. During this time my comparative human nature kicks in to gear. I can’t help but compare the person that I am now, to the person that I was a year ago. The comparisons I make can be as simple as comparing my weight, or realising how much I’ve grown – just this year alone. But since I’m a melancholic type of person, I usually analyse the ‘deeper’ changes that I’ve undergone.

For example, I think that I have become more aware of my emotions… My emotional intelligence has gone from an F to a C+. I now have an understanding of why I feel a certain way at a particular moment, even though this newly gained understanding hasn’t altered the way I respond to certain situations – perhaps in a few years. However, I do think that this has made me more mature.

Welcoming a new year can either be depressing or very refreshing. Depressing because you might just realise that you are still at the same place in your life that you were last year. I don’t know, some people might see this as being a good thing. But being a teenager, in this day and age, leads me to seeing only the cons of such a state. I think this  is depressing because I believe that as humans we have the deep desire to improve ourselves. For some, depression might come from realising that they have been spending their whole year taking one step forward, and two steps back. Yep, it happens. It’s like the time I got my 3rd term report – my average was lower than my 1st semester’s report. Even though I wouldn’t call it depression, something struck that told me to wake up and press on.

2013 For others the beginning of a new year can be refreshing. It is for me when a year has been ‘good’ to me. That means that I kept more than half of  my new year’s resolutions and I achieved most of my goals (at least the important ones). But I think that it all boils down to my happy moments exceeding my sad moments in the course of the year.

Whether the year be good or bad, I’m sure that we can all agree that time flies. It was just the other day that I was celebrating the arrival of the year of doom, and now it’s only a few days before the arrival of 2013. I personally feel that this is yet to be the best year of my life. After all, it marks the last year of my high school career. This is the year that I’ve awaited ever since I was aware of the fact that there was an end to the madness of waking up early(non-stop) 5 days of the week. This was later overshadowed by the realisation that there was still university and then I would have to work for the rest of my life. But now that I’m soooo close, I can’t stop the excitement of the beginning of the end of my high school years.

 

Perhaps 2013 won’t live up to what I expect of it. Or maybe it will 🙂 But I guess I’ll know that for sure at about this time, but only a year later. You know when people say that if they had the chance to go back, they wouldn’t changed anything. Well, let’s just say that it wasn’t that type of year for me… There are definitely some things that I would change if I had the chance to go back. But besides the things that I would change ( if I could go back), I would say that 2012 has been rather ‘good’ to me.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The inevitable arrival of a new year.

Leave a comment